top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureksdlondon

Geshe Bengongjia ...



Grace writes...

(1) Geshe Bengongjia of Tibet was originally a robber, but after he converted to the Three Jewels and learned about the Holy Religion, he became an unconventional practitioner. Once, Ben Gongjia went to a donor's house, and the donors happened to be out. He thought at that time: I don't have any tea, so I should steal some tea and use it for when I am living in the mountains. When he first put his hand into the tea bag, he immediately developed righteous thoughts and shouted: I am stealing tea leaves, cut off this hand!

(2)  Tibetans drink tea with a layer of thick butter. Once many monks were being offered butter tea and the butter seemed to be getting thinner and thinner. Ben Gongjia sat at the back among all the monks and looked anxiously: "The weather is so cold and I am really hungry, alas! It looks like when it’s my turn, there will be no butter left and the tea will no longer be creamy.” After this thought came up, he immediately noticed: “Ben Gongjia, you made another mistake!” His eyes widened, to punish this selfish and greedy thought, he covered his bowl with his hands,  when finally came to his turn, he refused the offer and said, "This bad guy has already eaten, so I have to starve him for a day."

(3)  One day Geshe Ben Gongjia heard that some important figures in the country were about to come for a visit. Knowing this news he carefully arranged his offering table. However, he immediately realised that this had nothing to do with his love towards these important people but instead that he was hoping to win admiration from others. Thinking of this, Ben Gongjia casually picked up a handful of stove ashes, sprinkled it on the table, and said to himself, “This monk should not cheat!” This story is heard by one great master and he commented, 'Ben Gongjia’s handful dust offering is the best in all Tibet." In a public statement Geshe Ben Gongjia said, "When I used to be a robber, I could fight forty people. Because of this people called me ' scared forty.'  There were too many enemies that I had to wear two or three knives with bows and arrows on my waist. However, I would still feel insecure. During this time, I robbed people day and night but my stomach was still not fed and full. Now, I have abandoned all my weapons, but my enemies are gone. I am only concentrating on practising Dharma, yet my stomach feels full.”

93 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page