top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureksdlondon

What we do today is what matters most...

" Each morning we are born, again. What we do today is what matter most."


 ~ Buddha A Precious Human Life: Every day, think as you wake up:

"Today I am fortunate to have woken up.I am alive, I have a precious human life.I am not going to waste it.

I am going to use all my energies to develop myself,to expand my heart out to others,to achieve enlightenment for the benefit of all beings.

I am going to have kind thoughts towards others.I am not going to get angry,or think badly about others.

I am going to benefit others as much as I can."

~ His Holiness the 14th Dalai Lama

Sarah writes... Tomorrow Ashley and I will be starting an hour long study session three times a week. We did a one week retreat over the Christmas and New Year break and we both really enjoyed  the allocated study time. The main topic we explored on our retreat was the first of the Four Thoughts, Precious Human Life. Now that lockdown has lasted a few weeks, I think it is natural for a sense of monotony and ennui to be creeping in. Yesterday I went down to to the kitchen for a snack and a fellow resident asked me if I was hungry or just bored! A few more people hinted how the lack of distraction, or work or anything can detract from a sense of significance and meaning in our days.  Therefore, I think both these quotes express how powerful our intention and motivation can be in generating a sense of purpose, no matter what activities our day consists of. It feels that if we were to really absorb the meaning of these words, then no matter what, we would feel empowered and grateful that we can always be working on ourselves as well as conscious of how we can be of benefit to others.  We will keep you all in the loop as to how our study sessions go! 

104 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page